Pleats

I’m making a pleated skirt that is to be attatched to a dress I’ve already finished. I’d never made pleats like these before, but how hard can it be, right?

I started by folding and pressing the pleats. Luckily the pattern of the fabric is checkered in small squares, so I just followed them. Foto-0119

When I had finished pressing, I went online to see how others have done with the hem. I had already thought about if it would be easier to hem first and pleat after but decided against it. The explanations I found really didn’t make any sense to me so I decided to proceed  by trial and error.. I tried with a small piece of fabric firtst and then put needlles in the pleats and sew a short seam at the top of each pleat. I think it looks really nice now, but the question of the hemming remains. It worked ok with the small piece of fabric, but will the pleats be ruined on a piece this long?Foto-0122

4 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve never hemmed a fully pleated skirt like this, but know that the fuller a skirt is, the smaller your hem should be. If the fabric is very thin and light, I would think you could just repress the pleats after hemming. If it is quite thick and stiff, maybe just a rolled overlock hem? I’m really not too sure.

    Reply

  2. Good luck! xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog RSS

A great WordPress.com site

Handcrafted History

Historical and modern handcraft mixed with adventures

Distaff

dis·taff - noun 1) a stick or spindle onto which wool or flax is wound for spinning. 2) of or concerning women.

timogarden

Ecological gardening and food processing in Sweden

Collins Celtic Crafts

Crafting, Food, Photos, & Life in the Woods

CreaMea

A great WordPress.com site

always time to procraftinate

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Catching Up The Slender Thread

Diary of an Artist (making it the hard way)

Fruit From My Hands

.....give her the fruit of her hands

MålarAffes Blogg

A great WordPress.com site

Emma Crafts Design

Everyday craft inspirations

ebb / mind - flow

SELF ACTUALIZATION IN A MODERN WORLD /a blog about mental health

something from seaview

life and musings from our seaview home

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

MADAME TIFAINE

Sewing, coffee, mistakes, more sewing.

