The mad hatter

Image

Mesmerized by the women on the cover of this Vouge pattern, I brought it to my mother‘s fabric haven, and The woman of a hundred dresses and I set to work.

Image

Of course I had to choose hat B, which seemed the most complicated of them all.

I guess I lack the skills of the women of that time when it comes to accepting complicated and impractical items of clothing attached to the body. Or perhaps with time, I’ll get the hang of it. In the meantime, the hat’s in the closet.Image

Photos: Clara I

6 responses to this post.

  1. Put a bird on it…

    Reply

  2. I love hats although the ones I wear are either to keep the sun off my face (summer) or to keep me warm (winter) however, I would like to make a hat like the one you made. Does it require unique materials?

    Reply

    • I made it out of hat felt (wool) , ont the cover they say youll also ned grosgrain ribbon, elastic cord, wire, buckram remnant, and terry wash cloth. The pattern is from sewingpatterns.com. Good luck! Would really like to see another!

      Reply

  3. Aw! I tried to make a chapeau for my Great Gatsby sewalong to go along with my 1920s beach pajamas. SEWING FAIL. It was supposed to be a cloche hat. No. It wasn’t. It was more like fabric on my head. That’s it. I dunno, I guess you need very good directions or must be a millinery.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Dress A Day

A dress, nearly every day.

Blog RSS

A great WordPress.com site

Handcrafted History

Historical and modern handcraft mixed with adventures

Distaff

dis·taff - noun 1) a stick or spindle onto which wool or flax is wound for spinning. 2) of or concerning women.

timogarden

Ecological gardening and food processing in Sweden

Collins Celtic Crafts

Crafting, Food, Photos, & Life in the Woods

CreaMea

A great WordPress.com site

always time to procraftinate

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Catching Up The Slender Thread

Diary of an Artist (making it the hard way)

Fruit From My Hands

.....give her the fruit of her hands

MålarAffes Blogg

A great WordPress.com site

Emma Crafts Design

Everyday craft inspirations

ebb / mind - flow

SELF ACTUALIZATION IN A MODERN WORLD /a blog about mental health

something from seaview

life and musings from our seaview home

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

