Size that matters

Ever thought of the measurements of the sizes of sewing patterns? Going by centimeters only, I’m a perfect 42(16). Only when the dress is put together I always need to do the same alterations- I need to take in the hips and the bust-darts are too high.

I’ve come to realize that the person the pattern is made for doesn’t look like me. I have rather a full bust and not a very accentuated waist. I’m also in pretty good shape (I’m a dancer). The imagined 42 have smaller breasts (sitting higher up- get it?) and the hips in a different shape although the centimeters are the same.

Knowing this, I can make the alterations beforehand, although when working with new patterns I usually go with the pattern at first- prefer to cut off pieces afterwards instead of not having enough.

When I compare vintage patterns to new ones, however, there is one big difference- the dresses from the fifties and before are supposed to be worn with a corset underneath!Image

7 responses to this post.

  1. I have learned the hard way to look at the finished size instead of the pattern size before cutting out a pattern. I don’t like a lot of ease, but my back is muscular so I have had to fiddle with arm holes. I am still learning to adjust patterns, but am enjoying the process.

    Reply

  2. I’ve wasted some really good fabric relying on the pattern measurements! I know using a muslin would prevent some of my errors but I have a hard time using precious sewing time to make a mock garment! I too am learning to make adjustments beforehand.

    Reply

  3. […] outfit after some debating if I should really make another sixties dress since I don’t use a corset. Copying the pattern was really difficult, not to mention cutting it. Why? Glad you asked. Somehow […]

    Reply

  4. […] I never had a waist like that and I certainly don’t know. Of course they’re meant to be worn with a corset but still.  I figured if I ignored the fitting folds in the back it might actually […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Dress A Day

A dress, nearly every day.

Blog RSS

A great WordPress.com site

Handcrafted History

Historical and modern handcraft mixed with adventures

Distaff

dis·taff - noun 1) a stick or spindle onto which wool or flax is wound for spinning. 2) of or concerning women.

timogarden

Ecological gardening and food processing in Sweden

Collins Celtic Crafts

Crafting, Food, Photos, & Life in the Woods

CreaMea

A great WordPress.com site

always time to procraftinate

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Catching Up The Slender Thread

Diary of an Artist (making it the hard way)

Fruit From My Hands

.....give her the fruit of her hands

MålarAffes Blogg

A great WordPress.com site

Emma Crafts Design

Everyday craft inspirations

ebb / mind - flow

SELF ACTUALIZATION IN A MODERN WORLD /a blog about mental health

something from seaview

life and musings from our seaview home

inte fan gör det det

Alla säger:det ordnar sig....inte fan gör det det..

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

